Please take a moment to review Hachette Book Group's updated Privacy Policy: read the updated policy here.

Rapture

Rapture

Fifteen Teams, Four Countries, One NBA Championship, and How to Find a Way to Win -- Damn Near Anywhere

In the tradition of Phil Jackson’s Eleven Rings, Nick Nurse distills the wisdom, insight, and experiences that helped him carry the Raptor’s to the NBA championship in his first year as head coach.

As a rookie head coach leading a franchise that, though on a steady climb upwards, had largely been dismissed by the sports media, NBA fans had low expectations for Nick Nurse and his Toronto Raptors. But what those naysayers didn’t realize was that Nurse had spent the past thirty years proving himself at every level of the game, from youth programs and college ball, to the NBA G League and Britain’s upstart amateur circuit. While few coaches have taken such a circuitous path to the pro basketball’s promise land, the journey-which began at Carroll Keumper High in rural Iowa-forged a coach who proved to be as unshakable as he is personable.

On the road, he is now known to bring his guitar for late-night Cash and Dylan sessions. In the locker room, he’s steadfast and even-keeled regardless of the score. On the court, he pulls out old school, underrated plays with astounding success. A rookie in name but a veteran in attitude, Nurse is seemingly above the chaos of the game and, with only 82 contests on his resumé-has established, incredibly, as one of the NBA’s most promising head coaches.

Now, in this revealing new book – which will be equal parts personal memoir, leadership manifesto, and philosophical meditation – Nurse tells his own incredibly story, while also whisking readers inside the Raptor’s locker room and coach’s office for an intimate study of the team culture he has built and promises to substation. As much for readers of Ray Dalio as for fans of John Wooden and Pat Summit, the result promises to become necessary for anyone looking to forge their own path to success.

Read More

Genre: Nonfiction / Sports & Recreation / Basketball

On Sale: June 30th 2020

Price: $25.98 / $32.98 (CAD)

ISBN-13: 9781549184666

What's Inside

Read More Read Less

Reader Reviews